|Charlie Chan Has Things Well in Hand
LET'S GO TO THE CIRCUS!
Back in the day before iPods and laptops
. . . even before radio and movies
. . . how better to spend a hot summer's
day than go to the circus!
Whole generations of kids have no
concept of the fun that goes into
that one little word.
Maven wants to fix that . . .
at least in her small way in honor of
one of the best entries of the Chan series.
Get your popcorn, peanuts, cotton candy right
|Is It or Isn't It from CC at the Circus?
This is from a much longer
article but Maven frankly can't place it Charlie Chan at the Circus . . . . Maven will have to get her copy out again
unless somebody comes to her rescue!
40 Acre World - 17 Lands across 2,000 Centuries
|Charlie Chan with Colonel Tim and Lady Tiny
came across a Little Rascals clip on youtube.com with Olive Brasno (Lady Tiny in Charlie Chan at the Circus )
and her brother George (Colonel Tim in the same movie). They sing "The Ice Cream Song" in their 1934 entry Shrimp
for a Day:
|Charlie and Lee Chan
|Investigating the Big Top
Al G Barnes Circus Poster
Barnum & Bailey Circus
Showman's Rest and Bull Rider's Reprieve
El Verona - John Ringling Hotel
A cute clip of a strongman with the
Ringling Bros. Circus on What's My Line . . . a fun way to get in the mood for Charlie Chan at the Circus!:
AL G. BARNES CIRCUS
The Al G. Barnes Circus Train
was one of the
largest independent shows. Having only 17 cars
in 1911, combined with Sells-Floto
1935, becoming one of the premier
trains in the
west. Winter quartered in Califonia, it exhibited
along the west coast, and through
states and the the Great Plains. As with many
circuses during the Great Depression,
Barnes folded in 1938.
It is noted for being one of
the few circuses
having hippos on display.
. . . [T]he 1937 Al
G. Barnes show consisting of: 8 coaches, 4 stock
cars, 4 elephants, 1 advertising
car, 18 flat
cars loaded with 67 wagons and
3 Mack trucks.
elephant car had a raised roof.] The
roof had to be modified to accommodate
rather large elephants carried
on this show.
|Home of the American Circus
Cà d'Zan Mansion
The Ringlings' dazzling palatial mansion is a tribute to the American Dream and
reflects the splendor and romance of Italy. Described as “the last of the Gilded Age mansions” to be built in
America, Cà d’Zan has 56 incredible rooms filled with art and original furnishings. With its Venetian Gothic
architecture, the mansion is a combination of the grandeur of Venice’s Doge’s Palace, combined with the gothic
grace of Cà d’Oro, with Sarasota Bay serving as its Grand Canal.
In 1924, construction began on Cà d’Zan, which means “House
of John” in Venetian dialect. The house was completed just before Christmas 1925, at a cost of $1.5 million. [That
would be over $18, 570,000 in 2010 dollars.]
John and Mable Ringling greatly admired the unique architectural style of the
Danieli and the Bauer-Grunwald hotels in Venice, as well as the palaces that face the Venetian canals. This architectural
style, called "Venetian Gothic," greatly influenced the Cà d'Zan's design, which architect Dwight James Baum and builder
Owen Burns helped bring to Sarasota for the Ringlings.
Mable Ringling had an oilskin portfolio filled with postcards, sketches, photos
and other materials that she gathered on her travels to aid the architect with his design.
Cà d’Zan is 200-foot long encompassing
approximately 36,000 square feet with 41 rooms and 15 bathrooms. The structure is five stories and has a full basement.
The pinnacle of the structure is the 81-foot Belvedere tower with an open-air overlook and a high domed ceiling.
Cà d’Zan is constructed from terra
cotta “T” blocks, concrete, and brick, covered with stucco and terra cotta, and embellished with glazed tile.
The original roof was made from 16th century Spanish tiles imported by the builder Owen Burns. The bay front
terrace is made of domestic and imported marble.
In April 2002, comprehensive restoration and conservation was completed on Cà
d'Zan. The six year, $15 million initiative restored the mansion to the era of Mable Ringling.
|Cà d'Zan Mansion
|The Home of John and Mable Ringling
Cà d'Zan Mansion
Truly the most spectacular building in Sarasota, the breathtaking Ca d'Zan Mansion
was the Florida home of circus magnate John Ringling and his wife, Mable. Purported to be the last of the Gilded Age mansions
built in the United States, the home overlooks the waters of the Sarasota Bay and is undoubtedly the most photographed building
Construction on Ca d'Zan - literally "House of John'' in Venetian
dialect - began in 1924 during the height of the success of the Ringling Bros. Circus. It took just over a year to build this
Venetian Gothic masterpiece and the cost at the time was $1.5 million. The home was designed by New York architect Dwight
James Baum and was built by local developer Owen Burns.
The Ringlings loved everything about Venice and wanted their
winter home to resemble the structures they admired on their trips to Italy. They chose the Sarasota Bay location because
the waters resembled those of the Grand Canal of Venice. In addition, design elements in their home were modeled after some
of the great buildings of Venice, such as the Doge's Palace and the Ca d'Oro, a splendid 15th century Venetian palace. It
is said that Mable Ringling possessed a portfolio full of postcards, photos, drawings, and other items from Venice that aided
architects in the design of Ca d'Zan.
The mansion is 200 feet long and includes approximately 36,000
square feet of interior space. It boasts 41 rooms and 15 bathrooms. It stands five stories tall and includes a full basement.
The highest point of the mansion is a belvedere tower that stretches to 81 feet and includes an open-air overlook.
Materials used for the exterior of the mansion include terra
cotta T-blocks, concrete, and brick, covered with stucco and ornamented with shiny, glazed tiles. The terrace that fronts
Sarasota Bay is made of both imported and domestic marble and the tiled roof is constructed of 16th century tiles imported
Inside, deep reds and gold dominate the d‚cor. Reproduction
Louis XV furnishings bought from major auction houses in New York are resplendent and indicative of the opulence of the Gilded
Age. About 95 percent of what visitors see today are original pieces purchased by Mable.
Artwork is everywhere inside the home as the Ringling's were
major collectors of art. Pieces include not only paintings and sculpture but also tapestries that span several centuries.
Even the insides of closets were hand-painted with bucolic scenes of the Venetian countryside.
Mable Ringling died in 1929 and John in 1936. Ca d'Zan became
the property of the state in 1946, after much red tape. Unfortunately, between that time and the 1990s, little was done to
preserve the historic structure. However, it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1980. Thankfully, a
$15 million restoration project was initiated in 1996 and completed in 2002, and the building was repaired and restored to
- for the most part - its original state.
Today, visitors can enjoy docent-led tours of the mansion,
narrated by museum aficionados who can share colorful anecdotal stories about the circus magnate and his wife. It remains
one of Florida's most visited attractions.
The Circus Museums
The Circus Museum celebrates the American circus, its history and unique relationship
to Sarasota. Established in 1948, the museum was the first in the county to document the rich history of the
circus. View colossal parade and baggage wagons, sequined costumes, and a sideshow banner line that document the circus of
the past and of today. See memorabilia and artifacts documenting the history of The Ringling family circus, John Ringling as the Circus King, and the greatest circus movie, The Greatest Show on Earth, which was filmed in Sarasota.
Also on exhibition in the Circus Museum is the Wisconsin, the private Rail car of John and Mable Ringling built in 1905.
Built during the golden age of rail, the Wisconsin car provides a unique view into the splendid travel accommodations
that John and Mable Ringling enjoyed on their travels around the country on business and with the circus.
Enter the Circus Museum’s Tibbals Learning Center and see an exhibition of circus posters. Ranging in size from window to barn sized, these colorful posters
were plastered on buildings, walls and fences all across America and broadcasted in no uncertain terms that the circus was
coming to town.
The cornerstone of the Circus Museum’s Tibbals Learning Center is the world's
largest miniature circus, The Howard Bros. Circus Model. The model is a replica of Ringling Bros. and Barnum & Bailey
Circus from 1919 – 1938. It was created over a period of more than 50-years by master model builder and philanthropist Howard Tibbals. The second floor of the Tibbals building documents the history
of the American circus from ancient times to the present.
Opening in 2012, an expansion to the Circus Museum will contain exhibitions
that celebrate circus performers were visitors of all ages will experience the magic of the center ring.
|Charlie Chan Checks Out the Big Top
Ringling Relics Retrospective
RELICS REMAIN FROM THE JOHN RINGLING TOWERS. SARASOTA ARCHITECTURAL SALVAGE
HOSTS RINGLING RELICS RETROSPECTIVE, AN EXHIBIT, CHARITY SALE AND AUCTION OF REMNANTS FROM THE JOHN RINGLING TOWERS.
Event is Free, but we ask that you RSVP - 941-362-0803 or email@example.com . We are collecting a suggested donation of $10 at the door.
On Saturday March 28th at 6:30 p.m. Sarasota Architectural
Salvage is hosting Ringling Relics Retrospective an exhibition, auction and sale of remaining relics from The John Ringling
Towers. Ribbon cutting at 7:00 pm. Proceeds will benefit the Friends of the Sarasota County History Center, the Sarasota Alliance
for Historic Preservation and the Historical Society of Sarasota County.
Complete in 1926, The John Ringling Towers
were designed by Dwight James Baum and built by Owen Burns. The building was originally called the El Vernona Hotel in honor
of Mr. Burn’s wife. John Ringling acquired the hotel in 1930 and eventually renamed it The John Ringling Towers. Originally
built as a hotel it was converted to private apartments in the mid 1960’s.. In the early 1980’s the building was
closed and sat vacant.
There was a large community effort in the late 1990’s to save this grand historic building.
However the wrecking ball was sent in for demolition in 1998. At the time of demolition three trailers of relics were carefully
salvaged, recorded and packed away. These relics were then given to The John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art who have recently
donated them to The Friends of the Sarasota County History Center.
Sarasota Architectural Salvage is thrilled to bring
relics from this beloved building back to the public at this unique community based event that will bring attention to the
importance of historic preservation and will benefit future heritage conservation in Sarasota County.
Held under the
magical canopy of our local treasure warehouse Sarasota Architectural Salvage, Ringling Relics Retrospective will be a glorious
evening affair honoring our rich history. The relics from The John Ringling Towers will be exhibited and sold at this evening
event with music, food, drinks and entertainment.
Donations help support historic preservation in Sarasota. Our Special
Patron Tickets are available for individuals and businesses that would like to show their support for preservation. All Patrons
will be listed on the website, with your permission, or anonymously.
Online donation is available through Secure Web
Site -- Click on the button below to make a donation.
Bottom of FormDonations of any amount will be accepted at the door. Please RSVP if you think you
will attend, so we can have sufficient food and beverage available opening night.
West Coast Chapter
Jeff and Joyce Hart
Kurt Lucas, JKL Design
Coffee and Tea
Photo Canvas Creations
Ritz Construction, Ernie Ritz
Robb and Stucky
Architectural Salvage (host)
Sharon Carr – Carr’s Corner Café (Catering)
Sun Trust Bank
Sponsorships available, Please contact Jesse at firstname.lastname@example.org or 941-362-08
|The Sheriff Shoots His Mouth Off
|For Charlie and Lee Chan
CHARLIE CHAN AT
THE CIRCUS (1936)
Annie Mar: Mrs. Chan
Number 1 Daughter
Jimmy Ung: Jimmy, Number 2 Son
Lily Mui: Number 6 Daughter
Circus acts in
the Kinney and Gaines Combined Circus
(aka Kinney &
Gaines Greater Circus):
THE SNAKE CHARMER
THE HUMAN KNOT
(AKA: THE HUMAN PUZZLE)
LITTLE PEOPLE IN THEWORLD
COLONEL TIM & LADY TINY
HAWAIIAN PRINCESS – PRINCESS ALOLHA
SAMSON THE EUROPEAN STRONG MAN
PUNCH & JUDY SHOW
How much were the
tickets to see the circus?
which would be just over four dollars in 2010 US dollars.
Col. Tim was 42”
tall. Lady Tiny was “two inches shorter”—40”?
The dance that they’re
doing is the rhumba.
the finger in the mouth when they dance?
Does Tim really dance
with his cigar case inside his cummerbund?
What does he do with
the peppermint stick that Charlie gives him?
Tiny” always keep HER autograph and pen handy?!
Does Charlie finish
his lollipop while they do their dance?
If not, what happens
How does the ticket
taker describe Charlie?
As the guy with his own sideshow!
The circus master
who announces all the acts is obviously reading Marie Normand’s introduction as she comes out to perform.
Kinney asked how
much the “take” was (did they take in).
Gaines told him $2,680., which would be
$41,77.50 in 2010 US dollars.
How could Charlie
see the skylight on the roof of the business office if he was too close to see anything on the roof?
How could a locksmith
open the bolt if it’s on the inside of the wagon?
Was Collins the name
of the character or the real name of the giant who held Lady Tim up when she said she couldn’t see anything?
was John Aasen.
What did she see
(if anything) when he did pick her up?
|Charlie Chan Goes Ape
|At the Circus
How could Charlie
tell dead gorilla hair from gorilla hair just torn from a gorilla?
It took only three
men to subdue a fully-grown male gorilla (without any tranquilizer gun or anesthesia)?
Was it only two men
who took Caesar back to his catch?
What was the hotel
number of Charlie’s room?
Was this one room
that the entire family used or was it an entire suite for 14 people?
Col. Tim and Lady
Tiny were with Gaines’ circus for how many years?
Did he know how to
handle circus people?
Joe Kinney had been
with the circus how many years?
What had he done
Only worked honky-tonks.
Why was Tom Holt
(J. Carroll Naish, aka Gangor) coming into the office on the train when he discovered Dan Farrell (Nellie’s brother)
He told Farrell that
they didn’t want the smell of animals in the office. Does that make sense
A: Wouldn’t the office have at least a faint smell of the animals anyway? [Like the
Southside of Fort Worth could always smell the
Blue Northers that hit the
Northside's Stockyards first?!]
B: Wouldn’t Holt, himself, smell of the animals, especially after telling Chan that
they all did several jobs?
What does Charlie
have for breakfast with Tim and Tiny in their room:
Coffee, toast and doughnuts.
What does Tiny take
with her when they leave to tour the circus?
She takes a banana
everyday for Caesar.
happened to the business office?
It was broken into
but burgled badly since no one actually got into the safe. Charlie figured out
that some one had to put in the fake marriage certificate and Lee noticed that someone had filed on the hasp to get around
the lock on the door to the office.
marriage certificate was it?
Joe Kinney and
Nellie Farrell’s. They had married on May 31, 1935—Decoration
Day—in Juarez, Mexico. The Mexican official who signed the marriage certificate
was Jose Ortega.
there anything else of Kinney’s personal papers in the safe?
A life insurance
certificate worth $5,000 naming Marie Norman as beneficiary.
What does Lee see
in an ad in the paper that Nellie Farrell may have torn out?
How do Lee and Tim
shadow Nellie and Dan Farrell?
Lee dresses up as a nanny and Tim dudes
up as a baby in the “nanny’s” perambulator.
What does Tim say
when they see Nellie and Dan after she’s seen the attorney?
“Well, I should kiss a pig!”
How does Su Toy recognize
The skirt to his nanny’s costume starts
What does she tell
The first thing
he should learn as a detective is how to keep his disguise together and hands Lee her jade pin to help.
How did Charlie know?
He recognized her pin at Lee’s waistband
when he got back to his father in the circus office.
What was the name
of the wardrobe mistress?
How did Marie know
that Nellie’s marriage certificate was faked?
Because she had
newspaper clippings in her scrapbook that proved that Kenney wasn’t with Nellie in Juarez.
What was the newspaper?
“[El Paso?] Times.”
What were the dates
of the articles?
May 31, 1935.
What did they say?
WRECKS CIRCUS BIG TOP
Circus Performers and Animals Escape
[Caption under Marie’s
picture, misspelling her last name:
Marie Normand, Aerial
DEPUTY SLAIN IN ACE CASINO
Unidentified Killer Caught
Cheating[,] Blasts Way to Safety
PROMINENT CIRCUS SHOWMAN
HELD AS WITNESS.
Who is named in the
Deputy Pedro Ramirez.
What were Marie’s
Two compound rib fractures and a possible
BLOOPER: There is a date discrepancy: Does Nellie
Farrell say they were married May 30th? The newspapers all use the
date of May 31st—what gives?
NOTE: Marie Norman is referred to as Marie “Normand” in one of the clippings
from her scrapbook but a sign [on their tent] read “Marie and Louise Norman.”
NOTE: George Brasno threw his cigar on the floor of their wagon. Why
didn’t it burn the wagon up?
MURDER RATE: Joe Kinney by J. Carrol Naish